Sunday Musings

Today is Father’s Day.

I’m flooded by so many memories on these “holidays”.

This year I’ve spent a lot of time in reflection due to my training (which I completed yesterday! More on that another time…) and through different processes I’ve come to a variety of conclusions.

I’ve been lucky to have so many “dads” in my life. My own dad is pretty rad…but I’ve also been blessed with grandpas, friends, uncles…and now a pretty great father in law to be!

Through these men is where my love for the idea of a “homestead” came to be (at a very young age!). My father provided us with fresh fruit and produce through gardening, my grandfather was a great carpenter and builder, my grandpa had a thirst for adventure that I’m not entirely sure he ever quenched entirely. These influences were huge for me.

When we started this blog, I wasn’t entirely sure what direction it would take us. Do we only post homestead tips? Do we share a bit of our lives?

My grandpa was a scrapbooker, a record keeper… he reminded me of “The Giver”. A man with a worldly knowledge, who documented everything he could.

I think (or, rather I know) that this is following in his footsteps. You’re going to get a little bit of column A and a little bit of column B here.

The joy is in the journey, and we’re so glad you’re here to experience it with us.

~L

Leave a Reply

