March Wrap Up

I started writing this on April 3rd…let’s see when it actually is posted 🙂 (~L)

L:
Again, this year is flying by! E will give you all the details on my trip below!

Let’s talk goals…and how they didn’t happen 🙂

March Goals:
Goal to beat 1 video game …. oh my word…I have one level left! FINALLY. (I was trying to do a video game a month…ahahaha)

Circle Loom Knitting … …. …. nope!

Biodynamics Research I dug out my book again with fresh eyes. This stuff is really intense but also amazing!

Start 52 Week Savings Challenge …still going!

Visit Evan … Check and check! Also sub goals of this were to figure out our summer (which we did but it might still change), go to Sudbury (we’re saving that for next time) and go to Kokom’s (they were closed for maintenance 😥 )

Finish a book … I did it! I read Speak (Laurie Halse Anderson)- it was an easy read and I could identify well with parts of it. I think the worst part was it went by too quickly for me. Knocked one book off the shelf! Yahoo!

Watching: Bones, Arrow, OUAT, Supernatural,  Riverdale & Letterkenny St. Patrick’s Day Special
Playing: Yoshi’s Island (GBA SP), Mario Maker (Wii U), Pokemon Go
Reading: I read Speak and then the controversial Three Day Road. Not currently reading anything but Biodynamics books!
Attended: Chakra Balancing Classes as per usual! Also visited Evan in the Soo and took him to see Lego Batman (my second time…I’m in love with it!), also saw Beauty and the Beast with a friend (10/10 – nailed it!)

Let’s see what E has to say….


E: Ya, sorry folks – my bad again. I never thought I would be this bad at sitting down and hammering these posts out. I am trying to get better (honest). At this point what really happened in March? Some big things and some mundane things. First lets start with the great news:

After almost 10 years of knowing L (6 of the last 10) dating her. I have asked L to marry me! She even said yes 🙂 L honestly makes me a better person and I can’t imagine spending the rest of my life without her. She is the sunshine on the horizon during the storm of life. I am not a bad catch either. I am sure there are more pictures to come of the ring and us so be warned.

I managed to take a walk with L to a nice forested area on the 17th of March. I think it was a cross country ski trail so we might have been trespassing a tad. (it was for the greater good) We could not have had a better weather day for it. The sun was shining through the trees with lots of snow and mild temperatures with no wind. truly picturesque.

Asking for L’s hand in marriage really overshadows the entire month. Aside from L visiting me for the end of the March break that was pretty much it. We went shopping at antique shops and used game stores in Sault Ste. Marie. We even tried to find a used record store but failed to locate it. After that we retired to my apartment where we ate a small cake and gamed to our heart’s content. Then I was taken to the movies to see Lego Batman. Wow! I enjoyed all of it, from start to finish! What a really great, well done movie! Iron Man does not suck!

For those of you who don’t know me, I was (and currently still) in to Lego. It was an awesome building toy that inspired me and shaped my imagination. I would like to take this time to thank Lego for giving me superior spacial awareness skills and the ability to follow large amounts of information. I like to think that Lego gave me great problem solving skills. Thanks again Lego for some great years, here’s to many more great years!

More in tune with this blog… L and I tag-teamed the kitchen in submission with food prep. We were true culinary assassins, cranking out shepherds pie and lasagna. We didn’t even need to take a moment to tackle the mountain of dishes as we did them through out the savage cook fest. L even had time to try a homemade granola bar recipe. It was awesome except the 6 year old in me wants more chocolate chips next time. *Cough L *Cough. This new cooking adventure was really fun and I enjoyed being in the kitchen with L. Prior to this I was only really around for the cleanup after the cooking but since having to fend for myself I have learned to enjoy the task more and more.
*See the bottom of this post for the awesome granola bar recipe 🙂

L, I have some wicked new recipes to try next time you are in town 😀

For the remainder of the month I just focused on my math and work. Math class is going much better than last semester’s class. I really believe I have a solid understanding of the material which helps me understand the material that I clearly didn’t understand last semester. Only one test left for the year. Wish me luck!

What did I do in the digital ream this month?

Games
– I still haven’t completed Darksiders II but I am working on it (honest) I have picked  Banjo-Tooie as a port for the 360. A great trip down through my childhood
Television
– I am still watching Stargate Atlantis, Bones (re-watch before the last season), Game of Thrones, Letterkenny and Vikings.
Books
– There are only two unread adventures of the great Sherlock Holmes left in my book.
– Not really sure what to read next, any suggestions?

Thanks for listening to us ramble on about or month. Talk to you soon!

E


typorama.jpg

 

 

It truly was “St. Perfect’s Day” 🙂
We will officially put the “Holmes” in “Holmestead” in a few short years!

 

 

 

 


E&L’s New Favourite Granola Bar Recipe (Adapted from this AWESOME Running With Spoons Recipe!)

What we changed:

  • 2.5 cups (160 g) quick oats
  • Omitted protein powder as we didn’t have one at the time (eeek! we ran out!), but L has some wicked heat stable protein available through Epicure!
  • 2 Tbsp (14 g) ground flax – we subbed this for 2tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup (64 g) almond butter (or any nut butter) – we used peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup (80 g) honey, or brown rice syrup if vegan
  • 1/2 cup (120 ml) unsweetened vanilla almond milk – we used coconut milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup (60 g) mini chocolate chips (dairy-free if vegan)
  • We added in pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and craisins

Follow the directions on Running with Spoons! We melted our peanut butter and honey together first to make it easier to stir (stove top or microwave if that’s your jam!). Definitely our new fave!

Leave a Reply

